Speed Limits

Florida Speed Limit Laws

Speed limits in Florida are governed by the Florida Vehicle Code Sec. 316.183. All pertinent laws and regulations regarding speeding and speed limits are found in this section of Florida laws.

How fast can you drive in Florida, and what are legal speed limits in this state? Below we’re providing a quick overview of Florida speed limit laws.

Standard Florida speed limit laws:

  • 20 mph: school zones
  • 30 mph: urban district or street
  • 55 mph: all roads and highways unless otherwise posted
  • 60 mph: two-lane sections of highways and freeways
  • 70 mph: freeways, interstate highways, and other roads if posted

Always watch out for local speed limit traffic signs! Our overview of Florida speed limits above is based on general state laws. Every municipality, county, town or even road can have specific regulations and restrictions, so always keep an eye on traffic signs with posted speed limits which supersede these standard state laws.

Other speed limit laws

Absolute speed limit

In Florida the so-called “absolute speed limit” is applied. This means that if you drive any faster than permitted or posted on signs, you are in violation of the law.

Basic speeding laws

In addition, basic Florida speeding law prohibits driving at a speed which can be deemed unsafe. According to Florida Vehicle Code Sec. 316.183(1), drivers must not drive faster than is “reasonable and prudent under the conditions and having regard for the actual and potential hazards then existing“. This means that even if a posted speed limit is 55 MPH, you can be in violation of Florida’s basic speeding laws if you drive 55 MPH at night or during bad weather. Many states have similar legislation.

Minimum speed limits

Florida Vehicle Code Sec. 316.183(5) states that “No person shall drive a motor vehicle at such a slow speed as to impede or block the normal and reasonable movement of traffic, except when reduced speed is necessary for safe operation or in compliance with law.“. This means drivers are not permitted to block or otherwise impede the normal flow of traffic.

Additionally 316.183(2) regulate that minimum speed limit on all highways with 4 or more lanes is 40 miles per hour. In case the posted speed limit is 70 mph, the minimum speed limit is 50 mph.

Speeding Penalties

Driving over speed limit in Florida has different penalties and fines. First time violators are typically fined between $25 and $250, but can also have their driver license suspended for 30 days. Exact amounts may be different in each county.

Driving less than 5 mph over legal speed limit in Florida state is typically considered within the margin of error and you should not get a traffic ticket for it. Most law enforcement officers will not pull you over for exceeding speed limits by less than 5 miles per hour, especially on non-urban areas.

Additional surcharges or costs and driver license penalty points may also be issued.

All fines and penalties may increase in case you have been convicted with another speeding violation in the past. Additional traffic violations may also increase penalties. In addition the penalties may be more severe in case your speeding violation occurred in a school or construction zone.

Excessive speeds may get you in other legal trouble based on Street Racing Laws or Reckless Driving Laws. Driving 30 mph over legal or posted speed limits is often considered reckless driving, which can carry harsh fines and even jail sentences. Florida does not specify exact speed limit for reckless driving and it depends on circumstances.


Sources and references:

  1. Florida Statutes, Title XXIII: Motor Vehicles, Chapter 316: State Uniform Traffic Control, 316.183: Unlawful speed
  2. Florida Drivers Association: Florida Speed Limits
  3. Florida Department of Transportation: Frequently Asked Questions – Speed Limits
This article about Florida Speed Limit Laws was last updated in 2020. If any of our information is incomplete or outdated please let us know. Thank you!