Seat Belt Laws

Florida Seat Belt Laws

Florida seat belt laws are described in Florida Statutes, Title XXIII – Motor Vehicles, Chapter 316 – State Uniform Traffic Control, Section 316.614 – Safety belt usage. These sections of the law govern the use of car seat belts for adults and children. Below you can find our quick breakdown of Florida seat belt laws for all passengers.

What are the car seat belt laws in Florida?

  1. In the state of Florida, all front seat passengers must always wear a seat belt.
  2. Passengers under the age of 18 must always wear seatbelts regardless of seating position.
  3. Children under 4 years must be secured in a federally approved child restraint seat.
  4. Children from 4 to 5 years old must be secured in federally approved child restraint seat, integrated child seat, or child booster seat.

Other seat belt regulations:

  • Drivers are responsible and will get cited for any underage persons not appropriately restrained.
  • Florida allows medical exemptions for seat belt laws. You will need a certification and statement from a licensed physician.
  • All passengers on school buses must wear seat belts, assuming they are provided (Sec. 316.6145).

Florida seat belt law exceptions:

Florida laws do not require wearing seat belts in the following conditions:

  • News delivery drivers
  • Employees of waste or recycling collection service while on designated route
  • Postal workers delivering mail
  • Passengers in living quarters of a recreational vehicle (RV)

Additionally, seat belt laws are not applicable for the following vehicles:

  • farm tractors or implement of husbandry
  • commercial buses used for transport of persons for compensation except school bus
  • truck over 26,000 pounds
  • motorcycle, moped, or bicycle

Florida seat belt laws sources and references:

  1. Florida Statutes, Title XXIII, Chapter 316, Section 316.613 – Child restraint requirements.
  2. Florida Statutes, Title XXIII, Chapter 316, Section 316.614 – Safety belt usage.
  3. Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles – Child Safety Awareness

Additionally see our article about Child Passenger Safety Seat Laws for more information on requirements, regulations and penalties for child restraint systems.

Penalties

How much is a ticket for seat belt in Florida? Not wearing a safety belt in Florida is considered a nonmoving violation which results in $30 fine, plus additional costs.

Drivers will get cited for each underage person who is not properly restrained with a safety belt or child safety seat. Penalty for this is $60. Driver will also receive 3 points against their driver record.

Florida allows drivers who violated child restraint laws to enter a child restraint safety program. After its completion the driver license assessment points and financial penalties will be waived.

Do you need seat belts or safety restraints?

  • Wearing a seat belt increases your chance of surviving a car crash by 45%.
  • Child safety seats reduce the risk of death by 71% for babies and 54% for toddlers.
  • Children in booster seats are 59% less likely to be injured in a car accident.

Not being properly restrained is undoubtedly dangerous. For the safety of yourself and your passengers, buckle up!

This article about Florida Seat Belt Laws was last updated in 2019. If any of our information is incomplete or outdated please let us know. Thank you!